Inspiration: Equestrians

Photo courtesy of UltimateHorseSite.com

Photo courtesy of UltimateHorseSite.com

As a young girl, I used to dream of having golden Palomino named Sandstorm, Sandy for short. It seems unlikely that I’ll be getting one any time soon but that hasn’t stopped me from loving all things equestrian. Lucky for me, all the pomp and formality of equestrian culture was a major inspiration for the fashion industry this fall. I envision myself prancing around town in a tailored blazer and well shined calf hugging riding boots in the upcoming months.

Like all trends, this is one that can be taken too far and so it’s probably not practical to pair a riding hat with the gloves, jacket, and boots all at the same time. But as long as you don’t give yourself a blue ribbon pin, you should be fine.

To Shop:

My Favorite Find (in months) would have to be Toms’ Wrap Boot. I love the Toms brand because it is fashion forward and globally conscious. For each pair of shoes purchased, Toms donates a pair to a child in need. Since it’s creation in 2006, 10,000 pairs have gone to Argentina, 50,000 pairs to South Africa, and 200,000 pairs are expected to be distributed to children around the world throughout this year. As if that weren’t enough of a reason to support this company, the design team absolutely outdid themselves with this boot. Inspired by the wraps put on polo horses to protect their tendons, this boot, particularly in the sharp red color, is a must have for my closet.

Favorite Find:

Wrap Boot, Toms, $118

Buy Now!

My Dad was pretty horrified when I showed him this shoe and it’s accompanying price tag but of all the things that I point out on my blogs and talk about coveting, this is one that I’m actually willing to save up for. It really resonates with me.

And from what I understand, proceeds from this particular design go towards preventing Podoconiosis in rural Ethiopia. Podoconiosis is sometimes referred to as “dust feet” and is contracted when silica particles from soil are absorbed into the body through bare feet. The condition is essentially 100% preventable– that is if one has access to proper shoes.

Leave a Reply

