Inspiration: The 1920s

I finally have a moment to slow down and write a proper post. This weekend, I was in NYC visiting fam and friends and on Sunday, Linde and I got a chance to hang out which was absolutely wonderful. I definitely miss being closer to my friends but hopefully that will be changing soon. Anyway- Linde asked me what my favorite decade for fashion was and I didn’t readily have an answer. But I’ve been thinking about it ever since.

1906 - 1985

I’ve decided that this week, I’m going to go through different decades and pick out the styles that I love and feel like have influenced me. The style icon that I’ve chosen to represent the 1920s is Luise Brooks, a well known and revered silent film star. Her short hair and fringed bangs are iconic symbols of the ’20s flapper styles.

Industry Speak

In the 1920s the term flapper referred to women who wore both their hair and skirts in shorter styles. A Flapper girl was one that was interested in Jazz and had little interest in behaving “appropriately”. They challenged gender expectations and chose to wear heavy makeup, drink alcohol, smoke cigarettes, drive cars and ride bicycles, and talk about sex in a casual manner. Of course not ever flapper girl behaved the same way- this was simply the stereotype of one. In the United States’ prohibition era, the flapper girl was considered to be in opposition to American values.

Definitive characteristics of 1920s dress:

  • short hair
  • dark, kohl rimmed eyes
  • red lips
  • tans became popular after Coco Chanel got one while on vacation
  • shorter hem lines, just above the knee by 1927
  • high heels
  • no more stiff corsets that added curves, more flexible corsets that flattened the body and made breasts look flatter
  • dropped waist lines

The flapper era came to an end when around the time of the stock market crash and the Great Depression. Economic hardship made the flapper lifestyle of decadence hard to maintain and as the US became more conservative and religious, clothing once again became more modest.

Favorite Finds:

Chiffon Trim Flapper Dress, Twelve by Twelve, $24

Chiffon Trim Flapper Dress, Twelve by Twelve, $24

Buy Now

Multi Colored Flapper Dresses, eDressMe, $72

Multi Colored Flapper Dresses, eDressMe, $72

Buy Now

Brown velvet cloche, Vintage Glad Rags, $182

Brown velvet cloche, Vintage Glad Rags, $185

Buy Now

French sequined evening jacket, Vintage Textile, $2450

French sequined evening jacket, Vintage Textile, $2450

Buy Now

10 responses to “Inspiration: The 1920s

  1. Flapper era sounds like a time that I want to be in.
    🙂

  2. I love both the spirit of the flapper women and their dress. I love how rebellious they were for their time! I love this idea, can’t wait to see more.

  3. I was on a huge 1920s kick last month. I still can’t make up my mind whether I like Louise or Clara better…

  4. I’ve always wanted to dress up like a flapper. The dresses are so pretty and fun.

    Thank u for stopping by my site! Do you want to trade links?

  5. Amazing post!

    1920 was a great era, soooo stylish were flappers.

    Thank you for dropping by my blog and left a note.

    You’re site is very cool and I like it a lot.

    keep in touch 😉

    xx

  6. i love the headgear they wore in the 1920’s. =)

  7. That black dress is cute!

  8. I absolutely love the 1920’s as an era, in fact i used to always wear my hair short inspired by the TV show House of Elliott.

    I can’t wait to see your take on 1940’s, 1950’s and 1970’s (my other favorite eras)

  9. Love flapper dresses, the drop waist is flattering…
    And I’ve always wanted to pull off one of those bobs, but I’m afraid I don’t have the face, and plus my hair is too wavy.

  10. aww boo, thanks for the shot out! I love this post…a definitely great decade…and what Dancing Tallulah said above…I can’t wait to see your takes on the other decades…reading up on 1950s fashion right now and changing women’s silhouttes…love you, I’ll get back on my blog tip.

Leave a Reply

