Inspiration: Fashion Week Part 2

So this is the last post on Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week. Last week was busy/hard and so it was extra challenging to stay on top of all of the different shows that were happening, still, I think I’ve done a pretty good job of documenting some of the good, the bad, and the delicious and now I want to move on to the arena of indie designers.

Favorites:

  • Reema Acra
  • J. Mendel
  • Zac Posen

Reem Acra: I will confess to only knowing about Reem Acra in the context of the bridal industry before this season of shows but now I am completely impressed with her skills as an evening wear designer. I loved the fantasy elements that ran throughout this collection. I may be an “adult” but that doesn’t mean that I don’t have the occasional fantasy of being a bejeweled socialite who walks around in immaculately draped gowns in the richest of colors. Unexpected but greatly appreciated.

J. Mendel: Laird Borrelli-Persson explains it best at Style.com.

Of Note:

Juan Carlos Obando: Although this collection wasn’t my favorite, I thought that it showed a lot of great thought and skill. Obando crafted his collection from start to finish- making all of his own patterns and sewing all of the pieces himself. So rare. Obando also works with Colombian communities to help preserve traditional sewing techniques. It’s hard to see his craftsmanship from faraway runway pictures but if you ever have the chance to see it in person, I’m sure the care that he puts into crafting his garments will be both obvious and appreciated.

This weekend, I did have time to slow down a bit and get crafty like I mentioned before. I didn’t attempt the James Coviello cardigan because I wanted to test my adhesion methods before I potentially ruined my good cardi. I’ll have to post about that tomorrow though- I can’t seem to find the cord for my camera.

I hope everyone had a good weekend and if you sent me a msg about link swapping, I’ll get on that ASAP!

Photos courtesy of Style.com

9 responses to “Inspiration: Fashion Week Part 2

  1. Gorgeous. My favorites are Stephen Burrows and J.Mendel. I adore the classic silhouettes and colors of the dresses in both.

  2. oh my lord. way too much inspiration here 🙂 i’m kind’ve loving those blinged out pants by rl. however they can be worn only on the runway.

  3. Wow, your collages are stunning. Gorgeous picks again.

  4. I love those gold trousers(or actually is a skirt?!) by naeem khan, just so wonderfully opulent and 80s! Chado Ralph Rucci looks interesting too

  5. Great roundup! I was really drawn to L’wren Scott’s collection!

    xoxox,
    CC

  6. wow amazing collection! i really wish i could have it all!!! 🙂 xo

  7. oooh helmut lang 🙂

  8. Oooh, I like the l’wren scott and g-star collections the best =)

Leave a Reply

