Five Favorite Finds

It’s been a pretty good week and I had lots of ideas for my favorite finds but have managed to narrow them down into this list of five. There is no particular theme for this week although I do think that each of these items is very telling of my personality and the things that I love.

(1.)

In Style

Source: In Style

House of Harlow 1960

Over at Sophista-Funk, Tala and I have often discussed the atrocities that have been produced when celebrities turn into fashion designers. Let’s all take a moment and reflect upon the monstrosities that Aubrey O’Day brought into the world. But, every once and a while, there is a true gem. Some celeb who really understands design… or at least lends their name to those who do. Nicole Richie seems to be one of them. My favorite fashionista has done well with her new line, House of Harlow 1960 – already being featured in a slew of magazines as a “Must Have” before the first collection is even available for purchase.

Expect oversized cocktail rings, bangles galore, and lots of head pieces – said to be priced between $60-150. House of Harlow 1960 will debut at the new Kitson location in Melrose when it opens in November. It will also be available at their online store, ShopKitson.com

(2.)

Junya Watanabe photos courtesy of Style.com

Runway photos courtesy of Style.com

Junya Watanabe Spring ’09

Junya Watanabe’s Spring collection, inspired by African drapery and more specifically, West African textiles, was thrilling for me to look at. Not only did I love the colors and the mixing of the patterns but I also thought that the craftsmanship was really brilliant. If you don’t know much about Junya Watanabe, I wrote a post about him earlier this week at Sophista-Funk so be sure to check that out.

Just as last week, Fendi’s hair and make-up drove me wild, I was absolutely in love with the head pieces from Watanabe. I think if I could walk around wearing dried flowers piled on top of my head, I absolutely would!

(3.)

Balmain Sandals

Although this trend has been around for a while now, no one has made me swoon over a studded footwear. Until right now!

These Balmain sandals are killer.

The ankle strap? So hot!

They would be perfect with skinny jeans or dress.

I pine for them!

Maybe if I start saving now, I’ll have enough for them by Spring…

Okay, very unlikely but I will start looking for a suitable knockoff.

(4).

Handmade Nation: A Documentary About the Rise of DIY Art, Craft & Design.

“Handmade Nation documents a movement of artists, crafters and designers that recognize a marriage between historical techniques, punk and DIY (do it yourself) ethos while being influenced by traditional handiwork, modern aesthetics, politics, feminism and art. Fueled by the common thread of creating, Handmade Nation explores a burgeoning art community that is based on creativity, determination and networking.”

Source: HandMadeNation

This documentary by Faythe Levine seems like it covered some really amazing people and projects. As a crafter/diy lover by nature, I can’t wait to see this film when it debuts in ’09. There is also a book that will be available, written by Levine and co-author Cortney Heimerl, in November on Princeton Architectural Press. For more information, visit the HandMadeNation blog.

(5.)

Photo of the Week:

One of my dearest lady-loves, Promiti (remember, my friend who is lucky enough to work for Chanel?), has just started a blog! While I’ve always been a supporter of this lady getting one and have bugged her about it for a while now, she has finally seen the light. Judith Light! Get it?

No, no, no. I didn’t choose this grainy photo of Who’s The Boss Angela just so that I could make a terrible pun. Promiti actually encountered the incredible JL on the streets of Manhattan recently- thus solidifying her destiny as a blogger of all things nostalgic.

In Promiti’s own words, The Blog is Mine Redux, will make you “care about stuff you didn’t know mattered when it was actually happening”.

I love it already.

5 responses to “Five Favorite Finds

  1. I ADORE THIS POST!!
    first and foremost I am liking the seventies feel to Nicole Richies range,whether she really designed it or not,it looks HOT. I would wear every piece modeled by her in that image.
    Secondly Balmains sandals are FIERCE! They are so wearable.
    The Junya collection is brilliant but even more so because I know that it is inspired by African textile prints and more noticeable head gear and the way they locally carry loads on their heads.
    x
    marian

  2. I really like the House of Harlow stuff that I’ve seen so far. Will def check the line out more!

    Thanks for visitng my blog =) Love yours!

  3. those head pieces are so fun and funky.

  4. Your favorite is my favorite – the spring collection of Junya Watanabe. The head dresses alone are wonderful – a blend of nature, primitive cultures and Rita Moreno. I also love the use of colorful patterns, seemingly mismatched outfits and interesting use of denim.

  5. Gah! Now that I’ve peeled my eyes away from the shape of the Balmain blazers, I noticed the sandals and I’m in love..

Leave a Reply

