Trend Alert: The Bowler Hat

Who What Wear

Who What Wear

The Bowler hat (aka the derby or the billycock) is a felt hat with a rounded top that was invented in London around 1849. The style has endured and although it was, at one time, associated with butlers, the bowler hat is now massively popular among stylish women looking to add a little bit of edge to their outfits.

Bowler Hat, Urban Outfitters

Bowler Hat, Urban Outfitters, $38

Many of our favorite celebrity/model muses have been spotted wearing the Bowler everywhere from grocery shopping to red carpet events. I happen to think there is something undeniably sassy about a lady with a bowler hat tilted towards the back of her head. This hat can take an otherwise common outfit and pump up its impact by giving it a rock edge.  As Who What Wear noted, the bowler hat also garnered attention on the runway shows of Sonia Rykiel and Limi Feu, showing that it is a style that can also be worn with a bit more sophistication and suggesting that it is about to become even more popular.

Just Jared

Source: Just Jared

I loved the look that Rachel Bilson had at the launch of her new line Edie Rose (more on that later). Although the tie is distractingly long, I think she pulled off this style masterfully. Using the hat and tie to pull together this look, Bilson manages to channel the spirit of a proper young boy without looking like she was wearing a costume. The curvy skinny jeans and layered (pearl?) bracelets are a very nice touch.

For good tips on how to wear this style and where to find the perfect Bowler, be sure to check out Who What Wear. They have an incredible site with a lot of amazing information.

14 responses to “Trend Alert: The Bowler Hat

  1. Great post, I love all the info. I think that these hats are so cute…I just feel weird wearing most hats in general.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Love your site? WAnt to exchange links? =D

  2. rachel bilson looks sooo adorable! =)

  3. I like the bowler but worn in a more ‘Clockwork Orange’ way.

  4. I love these hats! I think they look so great, but I’m never so sure I can pull them off

  5. Rachel Bilson in that shot weirdly reminds me of Charlie Chaplin…

    random thought, but she pulls it off well

  6. Thanks for added me, you’re on my list as well. I really adore this blog…was showing my co-workers yesterday =)

  7. Hey, just wanted to thank you for your comment on my blog:)
    Love bowler hats, and Mischa is amazing!

  8. very cute and as much as i adore hats but can’t leave them on for more than 30 minutes.

  9. Oh I want a bowler hat so bad! I almost bought one from the men’s section of H&M (even though I’m a girl :P), but didn’t cause I was short on cash and wanted to buy something else more! Anyway, hope to go and get one sometime. 🙂

    Thanks for your comment, by the way, good for you for encourging people to vote on your blog, we all need to do so I think!

    xoxo,
    S-C

  10. Bowler hats are so cute!! I absolutely adore Rachel Bilson of course

  11. oooh i love hats.. but my head is just so small… sometimes i look silly

  12. I so want some. way too cool xx

  13. Hey, lovely article..i am fond of this bowler hat. I love bowler hats as it look cool in winter and like this post too which is nicely written with absolute lovely information.. Keep it up..!!

  14. It stimulates bioactive points and skin receptors to relieve tension and cervicogenic
    headaches? ‘Gill had the operation last January and felt a nagging and persistent pain in the back of your head. This is a simple but incredibly effective device which eliminates service pool 2002 and other inflammation related ailments. TreatmentIf you are not a long-term pain management solution. This is because when we eat them, we say congratulations and enjoy it. Dr Lynch points to the choice of a service pool 2002.

Leave a Reply

